On the plane, on my way…

English: Road leading into Incheon Airport

Incheon International Airport, South Korea

I remember that night so well.  Driving off to the airport.  My family, standing in the drive way, saying goodbye.  As if they would never see me again.

I made it to the airport, boarded the plane and took a deep breath.  This was it and there was no turning back.  Could it really have taken me 2 years to make this decision?! Sometimes hurdles in life seem a lot bigger than they really are.  The biggest hurdle is our own doubts.

The flight was long and it gave me a lot of time to put my thoughts down on paper.  The plane finally landed in Incheon International Airport.  I grabbed my bags from the overhead cabinet and made it out of the plane and headed to customs.  It didn’t take too long and soon I was outside of the airport.  I noticed the ratio of dark headed hair to blond had changed and how the air was much cooler.  The school had already arranged for a taxi to pick me up from the airport and it was there waiting for me.

It was a long, quiet ride to the city with Korean radio softly playing in the background.  Occasionally my driver would attempt to practice his English.  I knew a little Korean as well, so it was a warm-hearted exchange.  Koreans are very ambitious to learn English, so they are taken back when an American knows how to speak their langauge.  Even if it is only a simple greeting, they are always pleasantly surprised.  So don’t be afraid, give it a try!

The school was eager to greet me.  It was night and my new boss and her supervisor had stayed at the school waiting for my arrival.  It felt so good to finally meet them.  I didn’t feel like I was an employee, but more like a guest visiting their home.  They gave me a tour of the classrooms I would be teaching in and the school’s amenities.  I was pleased.  Uncertainty turned to relief.  I had made a good decision.  It was going to be a good year.

After seeing the school, I was went to see my apartment that I would be living in.  It was an efficiency about 10 minutes by foot from the school.  Kitchen, drier, and stove were included.  The floor even had a heating system that used hot water running through tubes inside the floor, so the floor itself heated up from the inside.

The supervisor took me to the nearby bread shop and I loaded up, then went back to my apartment and got ready for the next morning.  It was a Saturday and tomorrow would be Sunday.  Monday was a holiday and work would start on Tuesday.

. . . . .

I would love to hear from you!

